Referee Report

On 17.January 2019, 16:20:
Men'’s Single Round of 32: ZHOU Yu (CHN) — CHUANG Chih-Yuan (TPE).

After losing game 5, ZHOU Yu deliberately ripped of the black rubber from his racket in front of the
assistant umpire. After that the racket was no longer ready to use. ZHOU Yu wanted to change for a
spare racket.

The umpire immediately called the referee who was updated with this situation.
Following the rule 3.4.2.4 (ITTF Handbook Release 2. 31-AUG-2018)

“A racket shall not be replaced during an individual match unless it is accidentally damaged
so badly that it cannot be used....”

the referee decided to disqualify the player from this match, as the damage was done deliberately.
The disqualification refers to 3.5.2.8 and was valid only for this match, not for the event or
tournament.

The advice in the ITTF FaQ

“2.4 Player destroys his racket

A player has demaged one side of his racket in a moment of anger and wants to continue to
play with this racket.

Player is not allowed to change the racket but he can play with his non-demaged side of the
racket.

could not been applied, as the black rubber was flattering from the wood, which made the racket no
longer usable.

Game 6 was assigned 11:0 for the opponent. So CHUANG Chih-Yuan won by 4:2.

Budapest, 17" January 2019

Marta Szily
Referee



